An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Teaching a new dog old tricks...

David was up just after 5am and heading for the airport just after 5.30am.  I had a lie in till 6.15am.

Lola looked a little confused to see me when it's usually David who's downstairs first.  Not only that but it was an hour earlier than she's used to being up (photos in extras show her after she'd given me a lovely good morning greeting - massive yawn and a lie down :-)

Dog walker arrived just before 8.30am and off they went.  Lola was mega excited to see him.  While they were gone I got the dishwasher emptied, prepared Lola's breakfast, and looked out the ingredients to make the soup for tomorrow's lunch (Ele, Gail and Natalie joining me).

Lola returned very damp but very happy, ate her breakfast and promptly went back to sleep!

I cracked on and got the soup made and by 11.30am it was done and dusted and the kitchen tidy again.  David texted at 1.30pm to say they had arrived in Spain and it was raining I didn't laugh.  Honestly.  Okay I might have laughed a little.   They're not playing golf until tomorrow so have a day to get settled and relax a bit.  

After lunch to keep Lola amused, I dug out the desk bell we have thinking I would teach her to ding the bell in order to be given a treat.  Well you can see just how interested she was in learning that trick in my blip and extras!!  I rang the bell and gave her a treat over and over again but no amount of encouraging her to ding the bell herself worked.  She just looked at me with that disdainful expression as if to say "why should I ding it?  You just carry on dinging it and giving me the treats if it makes you happy.  I'm not performing for anyone."  :-)  Actually I think in my blip shot she's probably thinking "Help!  Where are you dad?!  She's gone mad!"  

Dog walker came back this afternoon and Lola enjoyed that walk too.  She is missing David though.  She comes through and looks at the empty sofa then slopes off back to the boot room.  She's only now come back and jumped onto her section of the sofa so will have a cuddle with her once I've uploaded my blip.

Will be having an early night (virtually unknown for a night owl like me) as it will be a week of early rises. 

PS Re yesterday's blip and my new iron.  What can I say, I absolutely LOVE it!  I ironed for an hour and got through the lot!  Unheard of.  Not only that, it was actually a pleasant experience.  No hissing steam, no having to sort the washing into material type (the iron has no temperature dial as it automatically adjusts as you iron to whatever material is being ironed so you can go from denim to silk without a problem.  Fab! :-)))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.