Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Iditarod

Today marks the start of the 45th running of the Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race, also known as The Last Great Race®.  It spans over 1000 miles (1600Km)across the state of Alaska. It begins every first Saturday in March with the ceremonial start in Anchorage.  The official start is the following Monday, in Willow, some 80 miles from there. Last year, the winner passed under the burled arch (finish line) in Nome in a record 8 days, 11 hours, 20 minutes.

There are 76 mushers entered this year, 11 of whom are women.  One person (Rick Swenson) has won five times with six others having won four each, including last year's winner, Dallas Seavey.

I have been a fan of this event for eons.  The first patch in my collection was from the XXth running in 1992 (the first time they became available).  I have purchased one every year since.  Each year's design is unique.
official race website

When I visited Alaska a few years ago, I met Mary Reynolds, the first woman to have ever completed the race. I also met Dave Monson, the husband of four time champ (now deceased) Susan Butcher, my all-time favorite athlete and another four-time winner, Jeff King.  It was awesome to meet and actually have conversations with all three.

to be continued...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.