Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Iditarod Part 2: Susan Butcher

After I learned about the Iditarod, I developed a teaching unit for my students, integrating all disciplines.  After Susan Butcher won her fourth race I had my students (then 8th graders) write to her.   Several months later, we received the letter you see above.  I treasure it.  In the extra: the envelope and enclosed postcard.

Susan Butcher won the grueling race in 1986, 1987, 1988 and 1990. She dominated the sport for over a decade, placing in the top five 12 times during her career.

In 2005, she was diagnosed with leukemia. She died on August 5, 2006 at the age of 51.

She was considered by many to be one of the strongest and most-disciplined female athletes of the 20th century for her determination to rise to the top of a physically grueling sport that is dominated by men. To this day, she remains one of my heroes.

During that period of Iditarod history (Libby Riddles winning in '85, followed by Butcher) bumper stickers and shirts were imprinted with:
"Alaska - Where Men are Men and Women Win the Iditarod"


Take a few minutes to check out her Bio, Profile, Interview and Gallery

To be continued...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.