Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Sun Bathing

On the last day of 2017, this tiny guy was in the same spot, way up in the saguaro in the yard next door. My cue to check it out was when I saw someone pointing a pocket camera at the top of the 20 foot giant.  I set up my tripod on the sidewalk below and waited.  And waited.  And waited.  He was soaking up the sun with his eyes closed.  I knew eventually he would open them.  Anyone who has ever stalked birds knows that patience is a virtue.  Finally, one eye opened.  I snapped away.  Then the second one...barely.  This shot was the most open I could get, after standing out in the sun for almost an hour.

This is a Western Screech owl. Word on the street is that a barn owl has been hanging around and a friend told me a Great-horned was in her neighborhood. It's kind of early for some of these to be spotted but other than a chilly February, the temperatures this winter have been way above average.  

This is a back blip being posted two days late.  Today (7th) I snagged a roadrunner.  I'll tell you the exciting story of it's capture when I have time to post it.   :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.