Three Snowy Squirrels

It looked like we were in for it again this morning. The snow was coming down heavily and seeming to stick. As I looked out on the deck I saw three squirrels, each on a bird feeder, covered in snow, grabbing what they could of the feed. I had to grab my camera with its telephoto lens on and snap a few photos of them. They were cute together so I made a composite. I recommend looking at the large version which is much more detailed.

Raven was going to come help me declutter the garage today but she lives down the highway and the snow there was also heavy. So she stayed home and we will reschedule. Meanwhile the snow here stopped and the sun is out again. Everything has melted and it looks like a nice day. But... Wait a moment and all that could change. I don't mind what it does. I am content to be here, although I do have a dentist appointment to have a filling done at one o'clock. (Can't say I'd mind giving that one a miss. But best I get it taken care of.)

The rest of my day is open. I will spend time with Arvin of course. And I'm thinking of going to Goodwill to see what they have that's cute and cheap. (Clothing, not stuff.) That is unless the snow starts to fly again. It is a new feeling for me, this freedom to choose what to do when and not have to schedule around Arvin's groups and bus. And I am noticing, thanks to Leslie the leader of our support group for mentioning this, that my time with Arvin is now much sweeter and more loving since I'm not responsible for his day to day care. I do feel more like his love than his mother now. That is an enormous improvement over having him home. It is sometimes much harder on him but easier on me. I guess it is a compromise and he may not realize it, but he's getting a closer, warmer, happier me in his life because of the change. Somehow looking at it this way helps me to feel more love and less guilt. I'm all for that!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.