Abstract

We had a lovely walk yesterday in the woods above Langsett Reservoir and detoured slightly to take in the old quarry.  The light was beautiful and there were some wonderful reflections in the water.  Overall, though the photos have come out very busy, so I've been looking for sections of the image that I thought worked as an abstract.  This is the third crop I've managed out of the one photo and there was barely an overlap between each of them.  I didn't have the right lens to isolate these views in-camera.  (I'd thought about taking my 100-300 lens, what a shame I didn't!)

We'd just left the quarry when we bumped into a friend that I used to work with.  It's a long time since we last met up - amazing how coincidences work out sometimes.  It was the first time they'd walked in the wood and the first time for months that I'd been there.  It was lovely to see her.

Afternoon, and time to help Jan, one of my printmaking friends, to get to grips with Facebook.  We've been talking about doing this for months and yesterday we finally made it.  So far, so good and new posts are appearing.  She's doubly disadvantaged by a worse internet connection than ours and a fairly new laptop that seems to run very slowly (she's taken it back to the store who've supposedly checked it out)!

Finally an evening with Positive Image camera club where we looked at a set of images that members had taken on phones/ tablets and also a set of evening/ twilight photos.  I think some of my favourites were images of Sheffield at night that had been taken by a few hardy souls who braved an absolutely foul, freezing night in January when it threw it down with rain.  The reflections in the paved area were amazing.  Oh and we had a presentation from the first annual competition  - a trophy for me for the digital special subject theme, which this year was water.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.