Selfies from the Brink

By Markus_Hediger

Dog Dreams #4

Since January I have been trying to capture Billy's dreams. Without success. While Luna, Aristoteles, and Penelope revealed their nightly adventures without much resistance, Billy has been a tough case. Every picture I have taken of him sleeping has revealed the same emptiness: a big white, bright space of nothingness above his head. I have tried to fine-tune my homemade plasma filter, but nothing worked. The result has always been the same. 
I was about to give up when I remembered that Billy is a proverbial dog. One recurring theme in Proverbs is the sun. "There is nothing new under the sun", says King Solomon, and in one of our theological conferences Billy told me how frustrating that was to him. Nothing new? So what's the purpose of life if all I can do is repeat the lives of my canine ancestors?  
I now realize that Billy's dreams are an endless repetition of the same old sun, represented by nothingness. 
The picture above shows him having his worst (and only) nightmare.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.