Reading Cookbooks

Dear Diary,

I was going through my collection of cookbooks looking for one to donate today as part of my Lenten "giving up" practice.  I have a whole lot fewer of them now than I once had as I have been slowly relinquishing them over the years.  I don't do a lot of cooking anymore but I do love reading cookbooks.  I always learn something new from them.

This is a sampling of some of my books and I included a handwritten one from my grandmother.  I love how she wrote "good" next to the recipe for molasses sugar cake.  The wooden spoon is the oldest family artifact I have.  My grandfather gave it to me over 30 years ago and told me that it came with a Dutch/German branch of his family in the late 1600's.  When I look at its simple carved shape I think about all the meals that were stirred with it and the patient hands that carved it.

I must admit I am in a bit of a dry period as far as photographs are concerned.  It has been so cold and unappealing outside but I am working on a fun photographic project that I will share tomorrow. I never seem to be at a loss for interesting ideas to pursue and that is a good thing during a long cold winter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.