Wind Turbine

A wonderful day.

We are staying quite close to the Minster in Beverley (extra), the clock of which chimes every 15 minutes. J slept through all the chimes :)

Today we travelled into Hull, UK Capital of Culture this year. The City is making a real effort in all sorts of ways. It is a long time since we have been here, so today was a real trip down memory lane.

The blip shows the large wind turbine blade currently installed in Queen Victoria Square. It is huge. Siemens have opened a plant in Hull to make these things. So this is a kind of celebration.

I first came to Hull a lifetime ago, when I left home for Uni. I have a lot of affection for this city, my first experience of the North of England. 

As for this Square - I remember seeing Tom Paxton in concert in the City Hall (behind the blade), and it is also where I saw an orchestra for the first time. And out of sight to the left is the Punch Bowl pub, a lovely old building where I used to meet up with an old friend when I returned north some years later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.