Mad For March Hares

I visited the RSPB Wallasea Island Wild Coast Project for the first time today. I've noticed all the activity on the south bank of the River Crouch from Burnham-on-Crouch from the north. 7.5 million cubic metres of soil from Crossrail has been deposited and the sea wall breached. My first impression was that it is very barren. The project won't be complete until 2025. Skylarks were singing but I saw surprisingly few other birds.  I had the entire site to myself this afternoon, which was nice.

I was nearly back to the car when I spotted these hares. It was worth coming for them - what a thrill. I also saw a short-eared owl in the distance and found a mermaid's purse. 

Today's poem is Forgive me, forgive me by Stevie Smith. http://www.currockpress.com/currockman-blog/on-this-day-forgive-me-forgive-me

I love SS's poetry and hadn't read this one until this morning. As I walked completely alone under the big Essex sky this afternoon I thought that I have a bit of the Stevie Smith about me. The Times obituary described her as "always in some sense a person apart." 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.