An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Starter for 10...

Backblip

Starter Box at the PGA Centenary Course, Gleneagles. Venue of the 2014 Ryder Cup.

One of only a couple of photos I managed to grab before my day took a rather unexpected turn.

Marion arrived to spend the day with Alan, D and I got ready to head out to Dobbies Garden Centre (* other garden centres are available ;-)) to look at the garden furniture sale (we're nothing if not optimistic for good weather next year!) but just as we were preparing to go I began to feel not too well. Chest pain, lightheaded, dizzy.....have had a couple of episodes of this over the last couple of weeks but it doesn't last long so did what I usually do and ignored it thinking once I was out and about all would be well.

Headed to Dobbies and spent a pleasant hour there wandering round before heading home. On the short drive home the light headedness returned (the pain hadn't gone) and on getting back we decided perhaps I should get checked out.

Off to the local Infirmary A&E where D stayed till I was called (only waited 10 mins) then he headed back to get Alan's dinner sorted and let Marion away.

Lots of poking and prodding, questions asked, tests run until it was decided I should stay in overnight for observation. Oh the fun!

Transferred to a huge ward with lots of rooms. In my room of 5 only two of us were under 70 years of age and only two of us were compos mentis. Fortunately I was able to look after myself but did I witness all those things you read about in the papers - dirty ward, food and drink being left just out of patient's reach, patient's having to wait too long to be helped with toilet needs, patient's having to wait long periods before getting pain medication? Yes, yes I did.

The Daily Mail would have had a field day running a story of the nurse-bashing type they usually publish about uncaring and complacent nurses but I witnessed first hand that that is not the reason my fellow patients' hopsital stay was less than comfortable.....no the nurses I met were of the highest and most caring calibre, there just wasn't enough of them!!

They worked their bloody arses off and inspite of very difficult circumstances did so cheerfully, compassionately and with a warm sense of humour.

Karen and Mary....you are angels. Whatever you and your fellow nurses are getting paid, it isn't enough!

Conversation of the night. Dr to a VERY posh (and I mean very posh....imagine the Queen with a Scottish accent!) Mrs Wright in the bed opposite me (names and personal details have been changed :)

Dr - Good evening Mrs Wright. Can you tell me your name please?
Mrs Wright (indignantly) - Yes of course I can. It's Mrs Ella Margaret Euphemia Wright.
Dr - Good. Now can you tell me where you are?

Mrs Wright (even more indignantly) - Yes of course I can. I am in ******** Royal Infirmary.
Dr - Excellent. And what's your date of birth?
Mrs Wright (now indignant AND cross) - Oh for goodness sake! It's the 24th of June Nineteen thirty nine!
Dr - Fantastic. Now last question. Can you tell me what year it is?
Mrs Wright ( in a are you mad, what kind of stupid question is that tone of voice)
- I have absolutely no idea!!!!

:-))


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.