Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Heavy Laden

The dhow; not me, though at one point today - when I went to collect my passport with a cancelled residence visa, I did wonder what next. I have 25 days (used to be 30) to leave exit the country, or organise another visa...

So today, G & I met up with KarenC and her husband Alan. A very smooth meet up at City Walk, and soon we were off driving through the narrow, winding streets of Bur Dubai, before crossing over to Deira and parking up at our usual spot to get views of the Creek and city.

The place was abuzz with these cargo boats being loaded to sail off to wherever, tourists visiting the souks and the usual peddlars selling fake goods! We had a quick look at the Spice Souk and then walked through the Gold Souk. Then back for an abra ride (our first this year). It was super to be out on the Creek and feeling the cool breeze.

Had dinner at Yahala, and then made it to the 7:30 show of Dubai Fountain. Stayed for a second show (see extra) and I have to say - today was extremely busy with tourists. They were everywhere! We managed to navigate them without any incidents(!) and then drove past Sheikh Mohammed's Palace before finally saying goodbye when we dropped Karen and Alan off at Garden Glow! I hope we haven't tired them too much!

Great afternoon in great company with loads of blip opportunities. And now I must get to the gadget magazine I got given as a gift! :)  GK over and out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.