WEDNESDAY WORKMEN

Usual shopping trip to Morrisons this morning.  Then a catch up with recorded TV programmes.  Then Neil arrived ( he had a day off today ) and I cooked him steak, potato wedges and onion rings. Then he went to bed for a nap - a nap which turned into a very long sleep.  Then it was time for him to go home.  So I didn't see much of him but it was nice to have him here anyway.

No problems with the power today but I did get a bit of a scare when I spotted a couple of trucks pull up outside my house and three workmen got out.  Turned out they had come to remove the old lamppost.  The new one has been in place for a few weeks but wasn't switched on.  If you remember a few weeks ago a chap from the Council advised me that the cable for the old lamppost was buried in my garden so today the workmen dug a big trench to get at and remove the cable.  They then filled the hole in and re-planted the bushes they had dug out.  Then the guy in my photo - the one with the ear defenders - cut the old lamppost with a chainsaw. A crane then lifted the top part away and put it on a lorry and then the bottom bit was removed.  All done and dusted.    I did use the zoom to take my shot but I think I was spotted  don't you.

The weather has been really sunny today but windy and bitterly cold. 

Steps today - 4,722

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.