This morning I finished work, went to Go-Outdoors and bought a pair of Keen walking sandals, went home and slept from 11.30 until 1.45.... crikey!

Later Mat and I finished climbing at Alter Rock at about 6.15 and went to change our shoes etc.... to be met by this leg sticking out from the storage

I got my phone ready to take a photo when a young lad popped up and said the leg belonged to his stepdad, did I want to see him? Um... yes ok.

I asked his stepdad what it was like, climbing one-legged?  Did the body compensate naturally for the loss of the weight of that leg, or still think it was there?  So he gave me a demonstration of how he climbed on the bouldering wall.... amazing!!!  To watch him you didn't even notice that he only had one leg... until he jumped down (carefully) onto the mat.  It was good to meet him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.