SecondSeason

By SecondSeason

Contentment

It's unusual for me to be getting a blip so early in the day but the mist was out and calling my name.  I'm very fortunate that our property backs onto a lovely quiet little neighbourhood park.  It was one of the main reasons we purchased this house almost 11 years ago, as the park felt like an extension of our backyard.  Private and serene, quiet and tranquil.  We are surrounded by tall seemingly ageless evergreens that stand sentinal as they provide both shelter from summer's heat as well as a protective barrier from winter winds.  

Finding this home was a gift.  We were moving from a small acreage in a beautiful valley snuggly nestled in between mountains where we could hear the river running several hundred feet from our home.  It was a large house that we'd built from the ground up and it's size no longer seemed necessary for just the 2 of us after the kids left home.  So we moved half an hour west, back to an urban community that held some painful memories, but brought us closer to our kids and grandkids.  It's been a great house.  Half the size of our other one, and yet I don't miss the space.  I really enjoy the solitude of our backyard and these days often catch myself looking out the windows, longing for warmer weather.  It's my favourite outdoor space, where I can breathe, let go, find my peace on days it's slipping and just sit in the beauty of nature that surrounds me.  It's a space that we share with family and friends and many many a coffee, happy hour and BBQ have deposited their memories there.  

I am once again so grateful today that a divine hand lead us to this place.  I am content with what I have and lack for nothing.  All's as right as it can be in my world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.