Kildwick

I need to get back in the saddle if I am going to be fit for our cycling touring holiday later in the year so today I pedalled along the canal as far as the mobile cafe guy in the lay-by just before Bradley.  It has been a beautiful sunny day but with blustery winds so Tony had advised me to see what the wind direction was doing when I reached the canal and then ride out into the headwind - either towards Leeds or Skipton.

It was hard work beyond Silsden as the towpath was very muddy so the cafe was my target.  A very large bacon sandwich, a coffee and lots of Brexit, self-employment insurance and blow up the House of Lords talk later (!) I climbed back up to the towpath to head home.  A truck driver arrived whilst I was at the cafe and ordered a bacon, spam and egg sandwich!  I haven't eaten spam since I was a child when it was a mainstay in our house.

I hardly passed a soul till I reached Riddlesden and then it was lots of 'Excuse Me' and 'Bike Passing!' as the sunshine had brought folks out.  I paused awhile at the Five Rise Locks Cafe for a cuppa and loo stop then it was the last leg home back up the hill.

Back home it was down to some serious bike washing and a much needed shower.  A grand day out!

Thank you to those of you who had a go at my lateral challenge yesterday.  I may well refine the rules and also nominate a new blip to continue the association when it has another airing.  The entries were a mix of straightforward and fiendishly devious!  Watch this space.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.