Becka Brook

Well, after my rant yesterday it would seem that the weather gods thought I could do with a break and we had a lovely clear, warm day today. Must have been my threat to take up Morris dancing that swayed them.

I took a walk down the Old Manaton Road to Houndtor Woods. It's an abandoned road and today it was very quiet without the usual dog walkers, in fact I didn't see a soul for an hour and then it was two tractors hauling wood away. Normally my destination down this lane is the lovely Hisley Packhorse Bridge that crosses the River Bovey but I walked straight past today because I was heading for the Becka Brook which is a favourite of mine. Whenever I see it it seems to have nice mossy boulders and lots of fast running bits. It also runs through Becky Falls which is lovely but you have to pay to walk there. I haven't seen this stretch, which is it's last run before it goes into the River Bovey and I wasn't disappointed.

Because it was so quiet I decided to call in at Hisley Bridge and I've put a few shots up here if you'd like to see them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.