Puncture And Punctuation Marks

I spent the afternoon rolling in nettles. Gosh, the fresh young plants do sting. I'm tingling all over. I don't mind though as I was consorting with three comma butterflies, one of which settled briefly on me. I've always found this species 'friendly' and I really enjoyed my time spent with them in the sunshine. I took lots of pics and couldn't decide which to blip. I've gone for the above as it shows the insect's, useless for walking but handy for smelling and tasting, front 'brush feet'. The comma-shaped mark on the underwing which gives it its name can also be seen.

A pic of a buzzard that I've included in extras shows how beautifully blue the sky was today.

Today's poem is Do Not Stand On My Grave And Weep. Anon. https://www.poemhunter.com/poem/do-not-stand-at-my-grave-and-weep/

This is a very popular poem that is often used at funerals. Though listed as 'Anon' in my book it was written in 1932 by Mary Elizabeth Frye. Her authorship was confirmed in 1998 after research by Abigail Van Buren, a newspaper columnist. In 2004 The Times wrote: "The verse demonstrated a remarkable power to soothe loss. It became popular, crossing national boundaries for use on bereavement cards and at funerals regardless of race, religion or social status".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.