What a day!

Up early to pack car and then off to Crufts.

A nice morning by the benches catching up with friends from all over the world.

And then it all suddenly seemed to happen very fast. Off to the Arena and wait back stage as the first 6 dogs performed. We were 7th team in the ring.

I had a cuddle with Hero, warmed up and then it was time. I handed Hero over to Helle and went into the Arena to set up my props. 30 seconds and then the steward's voice in my ear 'You're on camera...' (live streaming cameras follow your every move, when you perform at Crufts).

And we were on!

3 weeks ago, we did not have a routine ready... Today Hero performed a close to flawless routine in the Crufts Arena. To say that I am proud and happy would be an understatement!

I have been close to tears so many times today as I am so moved by the companionship I felt with Hero in the ring. We worked together as a team and everything just clicked. What an amazing experience.

Celebrations by the benches and then it was time to say goodbye and start the journey towards Harwich.

A meal in a pub, a dog walk and then on board the ferry. We were stopped by security, but I think it was just because they wanted to cuddle the dogs.

Bedtime... I bet I'll dream sweet crufts dreams all night :-)

It has been an amazing day.

See you tomorrow
Emmy and the Hazyland Boys

Edit on 13th March, when I came home to Denmark:
I've added some extra pictures from the day:

- Hero and I just after our performance.
- Hero's crate at the benches and lots of good luck presents.
- Hero with his breeders Bob and Alison.
- Our Puppet with his new pal Crufts Teddy
- Gollum practising in the Arena
- Gollum posing in the Arena
- And a tired little sheltie, who finally gave up and took a nap after 3 exciting days at Crufts. Biscuit rarely sleep, when we are out and about as he enjoys his adventures so much and doesn't want to miss anything.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.