Loads done today

I got up at 8:30 am and rushed as I wanted to be at the Auctioneers before they start at 10 am.
I am not fast in the mornings and needed to wash my hair, which takes some time to dry.
Was feeling a bit under the weather but Vick and Beechams should be helping.
We got out of the house before 10 am - success - and Neil drove to the Farmer's Market first, explaining to me that the furniture auction would only start at 11:30 am. Good news, so we were not late at all.
We have not been that early at the market for a long time and could get some more stuff than usual, as it was not sold out yet! Success - again!
There was a new stall with coffee from a roaster in Glasgow I had not tried yet: Dear Green. I tried a decaf and it was wonderful! Unfortunately they had no decaf beans for sale. We got some full-fat coffee beans instead and I kept their card to order some decaf for the next time.
Finished with the market we drove to Great Western Auctions. We have not been there for quite a while. I love auctions, it's so exciting, especially when you do not do that very often.
We arrived in time to have a run through and look at the chests. 2 were ok but not awesome.
I made note of the numbers and at 11:30 the auction started. I am always impressed by the auctioneers! They are so fast and see everything! In credible!
I bid for one of the chests, but dropped out in the end. 80 Pounds they were not worth the hassle. You need to collect the stuff immediately latest on Monday before 4 pm and it would not have fitted in the car. So we would have needed delivery and that adds all on top.
We missed to look at the rugs though!  Not easy to walk around and search the rugs, when the auction is on. They show pictures of the item it is bid on on a screen, but they photos usually do not show the colours well. Then a rug came up that looked good and I realised I was standing on it! 
No one bid and the auctioneer went down with the starting price. So I bid and got it for 50 Pounds! Success! It is a lovely rug and in good condition!
I tried to do as I was a super expert, but then forgot to show them my number, and he had to ask me .... bugger ... :) 
After the auction I paid. You have to pay 20 % commission on the bid plus VAT on the commission. But 62 Pound was still a good price!
Back in the car, with rug, I already dreamt of the couch for a lazy afternoon, but Neil suggested to go to Ikea and get glasses for the party and a curtain rail ....  
I HATE IKEA! But then thought let's just do it and it's done.
We drove there and entered directly in the Market hall. As it always is the case, we bought much more then glasses and a curtain rail. The trolley was full! 
I was knackered when we left, Ikea really does my head in every time I touch it. Too many people, too many screaming kids, too long queues .... and then (usually) stuff to build up .... :(
Back in the car we were heading towards home but I felt like a coffee.
Since we had the car I thought it would be a good occasion to visit Santino and Rocco in the "Smile Café Central". I have never managed to go there as they were only open 5 days a week when they still had the original Smile Café in Queen Margaret Drive. I thought they were open now on a Saturday.
We drove into the City Center and I know now again, why I usually walk everywhere! 60p for 12 minutes parking!!! Ridiculous. 
Luckily we checked if they are open before I put the money in the meter. And they were closed!
I still wanted my coffee and did a quick internet search and found a speciality coffee shop I had not been to: Laboratorio Espresso!
We parked closer to that place, I paid horrendous 3.60 Pound for an hour parking and we walked to the place in West Nile Street.
It's a wee shop with lovely staff and a nice cup of coffee!
I had my caffein fix reading the Scottish Coffee Guide then we walked back to the car before the time ran out. Would hate a parking ticket on top of the 3.60 Pounds!
We finally headed home and daylight was already fading. It was a long day.
We carried our stuff upstairs and put up our new bedroom lamp (unplanned purchase) , the new bedroom curtain (unplanned purchase), tucked away the glasses, built up the new magazine boxes (Neil did that, bless him), distributed the new plants in the house (unplanned purchase), put the new kitchen items in the dish washer (unplanned purchase), cleaned the new chopping board (unplanned purchase) and finally sat down ... :)
Neil had to sort some stuff while I faffed a bit, then we had an easy dinner and played 2 rounds of board games. One win for Neil and one for me :)
It's nice playing board games again. We paused for a long time and its fun to do it again.

So the Blip is showing the Café. It is a perfect example that you sometimes do not see all details in the moment you take it. Look at the sweet couple in the left.
Then look at the extras to see what happened next :D 
I had no clue - only saw it today when looking though the photos ....  

PS. Neil wanted me to take a picture at the Auction. However, I was to scared it would be interpreted as a bid ......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.