Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Kingfisher Joy

What a wonderful morning!

I'd decided last night that if the weather was fine, I would go to Marbury Country Park for a bit of birdwatching. And sure enough, I woke up to glorious sunshine, so headed out to the park for 9am, which, according to the website, was when it opened. So I was very surprised to find the carpark almost full when I got there. Apparently, there was a parkrun on and there were lots of people around, so I was not sure if there would be many birds around.
Down at the mere, the usual birds were on the feeder, but within 15 minutes, I caught the unmistakable flash of turquoise of the kingfisher. Imagine my delight when I trained my binoculars on it, and discovered that it was one of a pair!
Unfortunately they didn't stay around for long and flew all the way across the mere, but not before I managed to get a couple of shots.
They did come back again after a while, but not within range and only briefly. I always feel so fortunate to see them, however short the time.
I also spotted some Snipe at Haydn's Pool amongst the reeds, a pair of Teal and Tufted Ducks, a Great Crested Grebe with a rather large fish and a pair of beautiful swans (one is in extra).

When the clouds came in around midday, that was my cue to leave as rain was forecast.
We went to my parents' house for dinner which was lovely as usual, and discussed what we would do for Mothering Sunday, which is in two weeks. I think we have left it too late to book anywhere, as both of our favourite restaurants were fully booked when we called, so looks like they might be coming to ours for dinner instead. Not idea as it's my only day off between returning from Canada on Saturday and heading off to Copenhagen. But I'm sure we will manage.

Anyway, better get this posted as I still have packing to do for tomorrow's trip to Sweden. Hope you've all had a lovely Sunday. Only another week until the next one :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.