But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Newtongrange Winding Gear.

I was at Newtongrange for the annual 12-way photographic competition today, so today’s blip is the annual one of the winding gear above the mining museum. I had the chance of meeting KayBee for a coffee and he showed me the camera he had converted for infra-red photography; it’s something I might do with my spare one if I end up liking working with I-R. Anyway, thanks, it was nice talking to you – see you again next year. There are only so many things available for Blipping there so mine has a slight overlap with one of the many pictures that KayBee has posted today.
 
The judging was pretty good, though he seemed to miss a lot of sloping horizons and verticals, including converging verticals on architectural shots (even when commenting on how straight they were!) The photography was good too, though there were some glaring technical errors, not that I could have done any better.
 
In another life, the new cinema screen was delivered yesterday, though "dumped" would be a better word for it. I managed to recruit eight strong young men, though several were over 70 and one turned out to be female, to manhandle the thing into safe storage; that is up a flight of stairs with three right angle corners. To put the task into perspective, the package is twenty foot long and weighs 120 kg, so thanks, and well done everybody.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.