Selfies from the Brink

By Markus_Hediger

Depth of Leaves

I took this picture inside a dense and lush bush with huge leaves, typical of Brazil's flora. The sun was shining, creating a beautiful pattern of bright lights and dark shadows. 
This week's Mono Monday Challenge is Depth of Field. Skeena also added that we should try something we normally don't do. Well, I don't shoot plants very often, and normally I'm not very concerned with depth of field when doing street photography. So I decided to see what I could come up with in both areas. 
One of the biggest problems I faced was my lens. I have only one lens (the one that came with the camera), and it's biggest apperture is 3.6. It was even more reduced by the fact that I had to zoom in on this brightly lit leaf. Since I wanted a blurred foreground, I had to cheat a little bit and dedided to combine the mono challenge with my experimental photography callenge. I set shutter speed to 1 second and allowed movement to blur the leaf in the foreground. 
I had to correct exposure in Camera Raw CC, but that was all. Hope you like it.

Thanks to Skeena for hosting Mono Monday. This week's challenge was a real challenge for me, and I enjoyed it greatly.

(This week I will be blipping examples of what you can do by going off auto mode and manually altering exposure.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.