Posted: KEEP OUT!

Dear Diary,

Well, the storm is just starting as I type this.  Now it is just wait and see I guess.  This is a dilapidated building I have been driving by for years, each time I do I expect to see it on the ground but it is still standing.  Trees are growing in it but it refuses to fall down.

When the guy was here the other day fixing the furnace we got to talking about how old timers, my grandfather was one of those, always saved nails and wood for future projects.  My beloved tree house was made of recycled wood and nails, nails that were carefully hammered straight again.  My barn here in Maine was also made of reclaimed beams.  You can see the notches cut in them.  Old farmers never wasted a thing.

I suspect there is a lot of serviceable lumber in this old building but no one seems the least interested in it.  We are a throw-away society now.  It is much easier to buy new than to use old.  I always wonder when I see  these sorts of buildings, where are the people who own it?  How did they let it get like this and why does it just sit slowly rotting away?  There's a story there I'm sure, there always is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.