Traversing the Mud

Pal Helen and I are in training for our walking holiday in the summer so today we did a nine-miler, one of the local Millennium walks.  We parked up on the edge of the moor in Ilkley then took the High Dales Way out along the ridge, stopping briefly to view the Swastika Stone before continuing on to Wingate Nick.  It had been breezy and hazy along the ridge but as we dropped off towards Addingham we were out of the wind and the sun appeared.  In places, the couple of miles down to the river were very boggy so my blip is of Helen inching expertly along a gate to avoid a particularly boggy bit, whilst I sank into the mud taking the photo!

Once back at Addingham we turned east along the river, stopping to rest our knees for soup and cake in Ilkley before walking back uphill to the car.

Thank you Helen for the good company as always, and for my early lovely birthday presents.  Now I'm going to ease my knees at Pilates (and that rhymes!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.