First Cut is the Deepest

No, not the NHS and not my grass which had its first cut of the year today but something that's going to happen tomorrow. I had a call from a nice lady at the hospital who said it was fairly short notice but she could had a cancellation appointment for my cataract op tomorrow, would I like it. Oh yes, I would but on a quick check with Lady Marian to ensure she would be available to accompany me. Yes, she's only got to pick up her daughter and new grandson at the airport so it might be that she has to leave me there and pick me up later. I might be all done with time to spare, it's a very early appointment, but we'll just have to see.

I thought I'd better get out for a good blip today as I'll be indisposed tomorrow at the least. I headed for Shaldon. The tide was very low, I don't think I've ever seen it so low so I walked out to the rocky part of Ness Point where there is a line of rocks going out. It looks as if it might have been constructed rather than a natural formation but made an interesting composition. I took one shot and then added the Big Stopper. I needed to take a few before I got the exposure level right and by the time I got the final shot I was feeling a bit anxious about the minute and a half exposure because the tide seemed to be coming in very quickly. The shutter finally clicked and I skedaddled. I wasn't in any danger but there was a lot of seaweed and slippy rocks so it's best if you can see where you're treading and in these circumstances it's best not to be in a hurry.

In the end I liked the first shot better, it seems to have more life somehow but I've put the long exposure version in as an extra so you can let me what you think if you like.

Early night tonight, early start tomorrow and fingers crossed that my lens upgrade goes well tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.