Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Cool Signs #2

Dropped G off at school this morning as she had arranged to meet an old colleague for lunch and we also had a meeting at the Notary Public which was in the same area. On the way there, her friend cancelled out on lunch! So, a change in plans but we still needed to be up on that side of town for 4pm. When I went to pick G up, we decided to pop into The Mall (nearby) to get some lunch and pass the time, and ended up at this very cool cafe/restaurant. Loved this sign - especially the bit I've shown on the thumbnail, and then Lee (the very cool waiter) said that what would really finish off the picture well would be to have him in it! He was right of course.

We had a good chat about photography (I took a picture on the X30 but decided to go with this one taken on my phone); Lee is part of a Filipino photography group, and I told him about Blipfoto and we showed each other a few pictures taken on our phones.

We then got to the Notary Public to meet up with the PRO of the company who are helping us setup our company. All done in forty five minutes by Gigy (yes, that is his name). That was quite exciting. Trade Licence next, and then residence visas.

We came home to sit it out until 8pm as that's when the landlord's agent summoned us to come to pay the rent. Got there and he was most pleasant. We chatted for over twenty minutes before we talked about the rent which I am thrilled to say is the same as last year. However, he charged me a new "renewal" fee of over £300. Argh! How they can justify some of these fees is beyond me. Regardless, it's been a good day and we can't deny God's faithfulness.

PS. I think this could qualify for WildWed50 as we're wild about photography! :D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.