ABSTRACT THURSDAY - PATTERNS

I was determined today to use my new Canon G7X Mk II camera, so although I took a few photographs with my iPhone to compare them, I haven’t looked at them yet, but just the ones I took with the actual camera.

After playing around with the camera last night, I decided that the best thing to do was to go out and use it just on Auto to get used to it and then I could gradually wean myself off Auto.  

I knew Mr. HCB wanted to get on in the garden, so as I had the car at my disposal, I decided to go to Marlborough and have a wander round.  I had a very interesting conversation with the car park attendant about the new pound coins and the difficulty that would cause to all the machines and then set off with my camera firmly attached to my wrist.  

After taking a few shots, as it was rather mizzley, I decided to have my free coffee in Waitrose and then go walkabout.  I walked through the Priory Gardens to the River Kennet and rather liked some of the patterns made by the water rushing over some stones.  However, when I walked over the bridge, spotting some green weed in the water with reflections of the trees, I thought this would fit in very well with the challenge for today.

I’m still not entirely convinced about the camera, but realise I have to give it time and for today it seems to have captured the shots I wanted.  

As I was feeling rather hungry, I went to my favourite café in Marlborough and had a tasty Brie and Cranberry sandwich with another cup of coffee. Waitrose coffee might be free, but it’s not as good as the cappuccino served at The Food Gallery and their sandwiches are to die for - I do wish they would open one in Swindon!

I drove back home through a pretty little village called Hodson, where my Great Great Grandfather was born on 18th March 1841, stopping to take several photographs on the way - I think we need to have a wander round here to see exactly where he was born - but that’s for another day, when Mr. HCB can spare the time!

“Creativity involves breaking out of
     established patterns
          in order to look at things
               in a different way.”
Edward de Bono

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.