DERELICT - BUT NOT ON SUNDAY!

When I was out taking my Mono Monday blip earlier in the week, I spotted this derelict building - so went back today to take a few photographs.  Mr. HCB was off-loading a boxful of “stuff” at the charity shop, so I had a little wander.  I'm still getting my head around the fact that Derelict Sunday doesn't necessarily mean that the photograph has to be taken on that particular day!

Interestingly, this area of Old Town, which has a lot of character, was supposedly going to be regenerated, with a 14 storey block of flats, and other buildings, that would be higher than Christ Church but this plan has now been withdrawn after much “wailing and gnashing of teeth” by local people - but I’m not sure what the new plans will include.

However, this building is in the regeneration zone so I thought I had better take some photographs before it was demolished and it shows Christ Church, which was my Mono Monday blip, in the background.  

Let’s hope the planners listen to the people, but we won’t be holding our breath!

The job of buildings is 
     to improve human relations;
          architecture must ease them,
               not make them worse.
Ralph Erskine

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.