Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Lamb Chops

I went to a local farm today to get 50 pounds each of cracked and whole corn to put out for the birds and found, somewhat to my surprise, that their sheep had already lambed.  The farmer said that they started "dropping" in mid-February and he was mumbling something about Easter being late this year.  I don't want to give that too much thought...

Anyway tempting though it was to go with yet another bird-in-snow shot, I thought I'd deviate and give you a lamb-in-snow shot instead.  I did some clean-up of the snow around the lambs but decided not to crop out the adults and third lamb in the background.  I think it gives the photo a bit more context. 

I was tempted to blip yardbird #23, the American Robin when one showed up today for a drink from the heated birdbath - but I know I'll get a better photo of one as spring emerges, so I'll wait.  I also had some fun using Silver Efex Pro to convert a shadowy Song Sparrow.  Interrestingly, I actually heard one of the song sparrows singing today, in spit of frigid temps and snow everywhere.  The heart wants what the heart wants.

Nice visit with MIL today.  She was a little more subdued than usual, but seemed to be okay and we had a nice chat before I left.

It finally got above freezing today so some of the snow is compressing a bit.  And, where we've shoveled/plowed, bare pavement is showing through.  Unfortunately there is more snow in the forecast for Saturday, although much less than this week's storm.  

Thanks for the many kind comments, etc on my blue jay.  There were 7 of them out in the garden today, being their usual boisterous, noisy selves.  Even standing up to the pesky starlings at the suet feeder.  And, for the first time today, I saw TWO male red-bellied woodpeckers in the garden - that was a bit of a surprise as they are quite territorial.  I suspect that one of them is from last year's brood and Dad the Senior will chase him off soon enough.  

Cheers, people.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.