First Day at School

I was woken up by my alarm today for the first time in years!
I was in bed at 10pm last night which is unheard of - all part of my new resolution to be organised and get up early rather than leaping out of bed and running around in a mad panic!
When Miss E went to bed last night she sat bouncing in bed singing "Reception, Reception" and looking ridiculously excited!
This morning I was up and showered and Miss L was up and fed but there was still no sign of Miss E at 7.35am. I was just starting to panic that my vague plan to get out of the house by 8.30am carefully worked out schedule was about to go out the window! But she appeared and was so sweet. She said "I forgot I had to go to school so I stayed asleep in bed, sorry Mummy!!!"
We then washed her hair, ate breakfast, wrote her name in her clothes and bags, filled out her "Welcome to Reception" booklet which should probably could have been done before the actual morning of her first day!! which had spaces for her to write things she likes to do (go to the aquarium, pick apples, crab fishing, colouring to name a few!) draw a picture of her family , write a list of her friends, draw a picture of something she's good at, and to write down any fears or worries she has - it was meant to be about school but Miss E asked me to write "Sharks" and "Lobsters" and "Places I've never been before where it's dark in the doorway" and then I gently asked her if she was scared of anything about going to school; did she have any worries? She said "No, I'm just cited"
That's my girl!!!!
Nana surprised us by coming over to join me on my first proper school run which was lovely.
We got to school in good time but it was first experience of the pre-8.55am madness - cars queuing down the driveway and parked all over the place!
When we eventually parked I sprinted in with Miss L, practically threw her through the door of her room and sprinted back to get Miss E into her classroom just in the nick of time! Naturally they're at opposite ends of the school....
She went in and found her peg for her coat and then her teacher called them over for writing time. No messing about!!!! I didn't feel at all sad - just proud of her!
She seems to have had a good day. I have been gradually drip fed news about painting, reading, music and unsatisfactory chilli for lunch.
It keeps hitting me that I've got to do it all again tomorrow!!
My little girl goes to school!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.