Milkshake went in to have her cyst removed today - oh dear I felt fragile. I'm certain any animal feels less disturbed than their owner, particularly as they have no idea what lies ahead. Leaving her with the nurse I nearly cried and had to stop myself from blurting out my unwarranted worries and the fact she was so precious to me and why. I was supposed to have gone to The Angels house for a coffee morning as it was her birthday. The plan was to talk about how to celebrate it. As i already felt fragile the idea of a group get together and joyful nature of birthday planning was completely beyond me. Plus I vividly remembered doing the same last year with Friend. 
Instead i went up to the allotment and pootledaround for a few hours. As soon as i got home the phone rang - Milkshake was done and could be collected in a couple of hours - what a relief! Before going to get her i dropped the clothes from the Hafla to the Make, Do and Mend shop. Good job as she is closing the second hand selling part of her shop at Easter!
I had opted for a "onesie" for Milkshake thinking this would be less objectionable. How wrong could io have been! She stumbled backward round the kitchen and kept getting her back leg caught up inside it. She was also none too happy with the tape on her front paw where a line had been put in. She kept shaking her paw vigorously and biting at it! She finally managed to get it covering her entire paw at which point I removed it. Once she fell asleep in the eve i went to watch the TV - hearing a kerfuffle i went back to her and discovered she had got all four legs out and the vest was now round her middle! I folded it in and left her once more. The next time I looked she had got it off entirely! Oh my - the nurse had said it was a large incision and she was not kidding. 8 stitches and most of her right side shaved. Major hunt for the funnel I knew I had. I looked in 4 places before I found it and it involved a lot of moving of stuff! She clanged round the kitchen for a while then went back to sleep. As it was now 3am I decided to spend the night with her on the kitchen sofa just incase she managed to get the funnel off! I'm pleased to say we both slept well as I think we were both exhausted by the day! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.