Spot the odd 3 out

The first mushroom pick of 2017 happened this morning for Trev and I. We walked around the high school grounds and the first three  I picked were white underneath so I put them in the bag thinking if I don't get anything else I'll have a blip. But then we got lots of pink gilled ones that I know are ok to eat. So that is tea sorted with a bit of bacon and an egg. Trev cooks the best mushrooms so he is cook tonight.(He also cleaned them up a bit).

I have been away for most of the day hosting a combined regional historic groups meeting at The Grange (see extra). As it is 175 years since the European settlers arrived in our region what better place to visit than a house built in 1864. Only three families have lived here in that time- the Greenwoods, the Wratts and the Whittakers. Martin Whittaker gave us the history and then we went through the house which is now used as holiday accomodation for families and family reunions.

About 45 people came from Golden Bay to Tapawera, the Waimeas and Nelson. They brought their own chair, picnic lunch and drinks and we sat and talked about projects we are working on, problems we have in common in attracting new members and younger members and some had a beef with local council and their lack of interest in history. All in all a very successful day- but I needed a nana nap when I got home.

PS An interesting historical fact. This house has a concrete foundation which is about 18 inches thick and full of large local river stone. Dr John Greenwood once owned a cement business in Paris of all places but it went bust so he came to NZ. He brought the technology and the cement with him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.