Unconditional

This morning I received confirmation from my lawyer that the purchase of my new home is now unconditional.

At the time it felt like an anti-climax. Unexpectedly things turned sour last night and I was treading carefully. When a sale is conditional the ball is in the buyers caught. I knew I was the only one who could pull the plug, regardless of how many toys the male half of the vendors was throwing out of the cot.

I quietly stood my ground, talked to who I need to, weighed up the information I had separating it from the attitude of the vendor and their agent, and made the decision to email my lawyer and confirm I accepted the remaining condition.

The agent who sold my home and who has helped with the purchase of my new home is fantastic. Without her last night it would have been an even harder road. I kept my cool, didn't react, and was extremely gracious in my email to the other agent and vendors.

Buying and selling houses isn't personal. It's about facts, knowing them, and being comfortable with them (or not). House inspections and asking questions isn't personal, it's about establishing facts.

This morning  hpx felt a little bruised and bewildered. But during the day that's rolled off me and by the time I'd signed my bits of paper for the bank and lawyer, I was grinning from ear to ear. Now the bank and lawyer can kick on with the remaining paperwork.

I happened to be going out to friends tonight and I was in a happy mood. So was the sky. It's a big sky so view it large.

3 weeks tonight and I'll be viewing a different view of the sky, one outside of the city limits.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.