Hellebores

How heavenly the Christmas rose
to brighten wintry gloom!
Whoever saw a hellebore
and didn't love the bloom?

Its flowers droop towards the ground
as if the plant were modest,
which makes it seem in floral terms
quite possibly the oddest.

And how to catch its image
on a camera? - Now I know:
I point the lens from ground to sky
and snap it from below.

I love walking round my green-fingered sister's garden - it's brimming with floral delights - from blossoming trees to spring flowers - that include dozens of different varieties of hellebore. We both agreed this was the best photo, so considered blipworthy!

Thank you for all the kind comments on my yesterblip. Expecting our niece and young family to pop round shortly - fun fun fun! Will catch up with comments anon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.