The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Save us from the floral border!

I have a a new daylight lightpad, as you can see. It is very bright, and I don't feel at all SAD when using it, even on yet another grim grey day!

19th March is Saint Joseph's day. When I moved from Catholic convent in Ireland to another convent in Scotland, I had to swop Saints' Days.No more St. Patrick's day! On these special days, we got a day off, although at boarding school this consisted of Mass, treasure hunts and treats. Arctic roll for lunch.

One year we had to organise our own talent comp for the staff's enjoyment. My year put on a music and dance sketch complication. I was in the punk scene. The music was 'Time for action ' by the Chords, who were a two-tone band. We flashed torches to achieve the strobe effect. The chemistry teacher said afterwards that it was lucky that no one had had an epileptic seizure.
That was, needless to say, the best concert ever.


And now, 37 years later, while cats fight outside in the utter darkness, I am doing a very tea-towellish jigsaw that my sister TML sent me from Amazon. She said I could do it before posting it to NZ, and of course recompensed me for the postage.

The only thing is, she hates borders with a repeat pattern. And guess what? Yup, this one is a killer.

I got the puzzle out because Steve and I are trying to wind down after a few intense and busy days. It's working well for me: I slept till 9, had a bath, and then decided we needed a Sunday lunch. So we popped down to Waitrose and got some food. While I was there, I bumped into an old friend who told me he is working in Stroud on a cure for ovarian cancer, and on another drug to treat for ulceration in diabetics. His success rate is incredibly high so far. Needless to say, I was speechless.

Since finishing eating, I've been attempting to do another jigsaw and giving up; starting this one; breaking up cat fights; and listening to Indian sacred music. Just another vaguely normal Sunday, not forgetting all my clothes washing, too.


I have to do another card order, after my two markets, but I am putting it off because it involves data input and spending money! Steve's photographic cards, which I also sell on my card stall, are doing well. Time for a reprint, and a rethink of popular subjects.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.