But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

The Heriot Window.

This stained glass, the “Heriot Window,” is above the main entrance to Jnr’s alma mater, the Heriot-Watt University, where the cycle club stopped to use their conveniences as we passed through on our way to West Calder for lunch; it is another in the series likely to feature in the Christmas “Where is it?” competition this year – if I’m asked for a repeat performance. It is rather striking work, particularly at night, judging from pictures on the Interweb. It’s a pity that the lamp standards are not all vertical as my PhotoShop skills do not go as far correcting more than two uprights in any given photograph.
 
Information readily available on the artwork is somewhat sparse, but the arrows in the design symbolise the growth and expansion of Heriot-Watt University as an important seat of learning in the UK and the roundels contain symbols which represent the faculties of engineering, architecture, physics and economics, while the design mirrors elements from the architecture of the building. So now you know.
 
University never really featured in my life plan although I did toy with the Open University when it first started. I began by studying engineering but realised that a degree wouldn’t significantly further my career so changed to biology, much the same as Jnr has done. While it was very interesting, it was also very hard compared with my native subject so I decided that there were more important things in my life. The Old Man was disappointed as he would have loved to have had such an opportunity but, at the same time, wouldn’t dream of interfering with my life. Having run away from home to escape a violent and domineering step-father he valued my freedom and so I didn’t find out his true feelings until long after he had died.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.