Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Oh Happy Day!

I was moseying back up the driveway with our mail this afternoon when I heard what sounded like construction overhead. I looked up and spotted a woodpecker sized hole with what looked like a spot of red in it! I went on up to the house and got my camera and came back to take some photos, but got nothing but an empty hole. About an hour later I heard the same noise and went back down to the tree - which isn't far from the house - and YAY! I got this shot of the pair. Mister Red-bellied Woodpecker is in the hole, Mrs. flew in and waited outside. Then Mister left and I retreated so as not to upset them. I hope I'll catch a glimpse of youngsters later in the season. They're pretty high up in a dying Maple tree right alongside our driveway.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.