Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

No Regrets

I have been in Arizona for ten years (seven of which I have celebrated while a member of blipfoto). I can't believe I'm saying that!  On 17 March 2007, I stepped off the plane from Maryland and planted my feet on la firme tierra del desierto de Sonora. 

Four years prior to my move, I was forced into retirement when my bipolar disorder came to the attention of the new Superintendent of Schools.  I was 48.  I really didn't have much of a life there anymore because my circle of friends were still working.

My dad had been gone for over tens years, my mom had sold their restaurant and home and was living in an apartment.  After 70 years of dealing with gloomy and snowy winters, in 2004 she moved to Green Valley, Arizona.

So there it was.  I was alone in Maryland and mom was alone in Arizona.  It didn't make any sense.  So here we are, 10 years later.  We've been there for each other through thick and thin. The sun shines 85% of the time as do our smiles.

Life has been lived here and life will be lost here. I have no regrets.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.