ANOTHER BLIPMEET.....

…..but this one was pre-arranged.  I met up at Wyevale Garden Centre at Hungerford with the lovely GodsCreation and two of her delightful children.  After we had had our drinks and cakes/biscuits, we chatted and had a great time together.  The children were rather intrigued when I talked about Mr. HCB and wanted to know who he was, so I explained about my username on Blip and how my husband had become Mr. HCB and then showed them some photographs of him on Blip.

I took a few photographs of the children and having got permission from GodsCreation, made a collage.  GC didn’t want to be in the collage, but she did take a photograph of me with the children, so there is a chance I may be in her Blip today.  I can honestly say it was a real joy to chat with GC and L & M and the time went so quickly.  

M reminded me of our son, Martyn - his manners were impeccable and for some of the time he was playing games on his phone - not that we had mobile phones when our lads were small - after all, it was 40 years ago but our son always enjoyed playing games on his computer.  

M was delighted when a lady with a dog sat at the next table and before we knew it, he was down on the floor playing with the dog, stroking it and chatting happily to the owner - she seemed to enjoy talking to M - and of course, the dog loved all the fuss.

L was happy reading her book, fiddling with the serviette, and occasionally joined in our conversation - with some very deep questions concerning dinosaurs, meteors and evil in heaven!  Think I am somewhat out of practice with the thought patterns of children - so I need to hone the skills in using my brain that I once had. 

We met just before 10.00 a.m. and before we knew it, my phone was beeping at me at 12 noon to remind me that it was time to say The Lord’s Prayer, something I have done for many months at this time, wherever I happen to be.  They willingly joined in and I told them the story of when we were entertaining some American friends for the day and said The Lord’s Prayer as we crossed the River Thames - something Mr. HCB and I and I am sure Clark and Connie will remember for a long time.

We took our leave of each other, and as Hungerford is halfway between our respective homes, hope that we can do it again sometime.  M has my mobile number, so I think I may be hearing from him and as I offered to be an honorary Grandma Mo to him, I need to respond as any good Grandma would.

“Each friend represents a world in us,
     a world possibly not born
          until they arrive,
and it is only by this meeting
     that a new world
          is born.”
Anais Nin

P.S.  I was listening to a song on my way this morning - this one is for GodsCreation - and I think it might bring a tear to her eye, as it did to mine - Find Your Wings sung by Mark Harris.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.