Three Islands

6.3C with sleety showers and the odd snowy flurry in the morning. Then clearing and brightening. Wind WSW to 30 mph with gusts to 52 mph through the night and to 37 mph through the day.

Maeve the Deerhound woke Apothecary7 at 5am. Apothecary7 woke me. I took Maeve for a very short walk. It was blowing a gale and I noticed a sleet shower hitting the kitchen window when I was putting my parka on. Thankfully the shower had gone off by the time we got downstairs. In a small moment of perspective and insight I decided that I would rather volunteer to get up at 4 or 5 am every day for the rest of Maeve's life and take her out in rain and cold and a gale than see her go through Sunday night again. Normal grumpy service will be resumed shortly.

After lunch Maeve and I went for the repeat of the morning walking route across the road and round to the park and the harbour and back along through town. Nordic is being loaded with wind turbine tower sections and more sections are arriving by road through the day.

Once Maeve was back home and settled I went for another walk. I went out to the shipyard then out beyond the first gate at Baraskomel farm far enough to get a good look at the snow on the Arran hills.

Podcasts of BBC Radio 4's Desert Island Discs on the Clip (as I walked):
Jimmy Mulville. English comedian, comedy writer, producer and television presenter.
Frank Skinner. English writer, comedian, TV and radio presenter, and actor.
David Mitchell. British comedian, actor and writer.

Afternoon music ... The Beatles, Revolver then Rubber Soul.

E-PL5 f/9 1/500 sec. ISO-200 14mm

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.