Plus ça change...

By SooB

Spring

The rain this morning certainly helped fill up the pond a bit more, and later I donned bare legs and straightened out a few creases before doing the probably-last-but-one top up.  And down that way I spotted this character on a rather lovely daffodil.

When we arrived here, there were already lots of daffodils just scattered around the (mostly grass) garden.  I've moved some, and added many, but these ones right at the bottom of the garden, behind the pond, are currently thriving after finally having their two metre covering of brambles removed.

Daffs aside, a day of slaving over a hot computer, finally getting around to deleting all the old iTunes files (so it runs better) and giving the kids a dinner that did not involve pasta (that funny multicoloured rice where it's all either overcooked mush or crunchy depending on its colour; they seem to love it).

Later, the fish went a bit crazy and no-one knew why.  I think they are just fed up with Pretty Little Liars and have heard the rumours that there are many more seasons and the storyline is going nowhere.

Earlier, I had cause to wish that spring had not sprung quite so vigorously round here.  30 minutes concentrated weeding and I've done about 10% of the grassy knoll, which is a very small part of the whole garden.  Last weekend was the time to weed.  Last Friday it was just about possible to tell the difference between weed and poppy; when I looked on Monday it was all over knee height.  And I have promised my neighbours some tidying as the remaining empty plots in our little utopia (small u) are to be sold by auction soon.  And obviously I have my demanding client to keep happy too.

(But it is forecast to be sunny on Sunday, so I am going to observe Mothers Day even if no-one else around here does* and just sit down all day...)

*Because they will observe French mothers day, which is in May or something.  I used to get two days... but they've gone native.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.