BlipCommunity

By BlipCommunity

Are you up for a challenge?

Our last blog post wrote about how to overcome the infamous ‘blip block.’  Thanks so much for all the suggestions you provided: we will turn this into a document in our FAQ section :)

Several of you mentioned challenges, hosted by various blippers, as another way to get the creative juices going. The list of challenges covers every day of the week and all manner of topics – from mono to abstract to “wild!”  There’s sure to be something there for everyone.
 
We thought it might be nice to hear from some of the blippers who kindly take on the hosting of these challenges. Some joined Blipfoto several years ago; others are relative newcomers, but each of them is enthusiastic about the task at hand, even though, as you might imagine, it’s a fairly time-consuming endeavor.  Several of the hosts would be happy to have volunteers come forward to help in hosting the challenges, so please get in touch directly with them if that’s of interest!
 
So in their own words, here they are, with a hearty ‘thank you!’ for providing these wonderful opportunities to the community at large!
 
BobsBlip – Host of  Wednesday’s Wide Angle Challenge
 
When I wondered why the previously hosted Wide Angle challenge had lapsed, someone suggested I take it on. So, really, I stumbled into this! I personally enjoy wide angle photography, from astro to aerial photos, so it was an easy leap to make.
 
I think it’s great that blippers take the time to submit an entry! I try to select the ones that are not just the best photographically speaking but which show thought, imagination and something of an “X” factor.  It’s tremendously rewarding personally: I get to critique photos from a judge’s point of view and I learn from all the entries.  This has helped improve my own photography.  And yes, it’s a lot of fun!
 
Markus_Hediger – Host of  Saturday’s Experimental Photography Challenge
 
This is only the second week of running this challenge and I’ve been overwhelmed by the positive response I got from the community! I’ve always been interested in exploring the limits of photography: what can you get out of your camera when you leave your comfort zone (auto mode) and venture into the unknown? Since the possibilities are endless, I thought it would be interesting to see what other blippers would come up.
 
I think the biggest challenge in this will be to think outside the box and break the rules of ‘correct’ photography. But I believe the rewards will be many: you might discover an as-yet unknown artistic vein; you’ll get to know your camera more intimately; and, I expect that you will surprise yourself. And me!
 
Ingeborg – Host of Abstract Thursday
 
I love to do photo editing and, Abstract Thursday, where you can do as much editing as you want, was my favorite challenge to enter.  When the then-host looked for volunteers to take over, I stepped up because I would’ve really missed that challenge!
 
Picking the five most remarkable entries of the week is difficult: there are so many good ones! I have to be mindful not to pick the same kind of images. Getting different perspectives from different hosts can be helpful! I love seeing the great entries and the enormous creativity this community shows. It’s amazing to see the diverse ways and perspectives people put on a particular theme.
 
Cailleach – Host of  Wednesday’s WildWednesday Challenge
 
This started as a bit of a joke but people took me seriously! A year later, we’re still going full swing. I comment on everyone who joins in the challenge and give hearts and stars, but I don’t list my favorites anywhere, as I don’t feel qualified to “judge” anyone’s work: there are NO rules; I just want it to be fun, rather than competitive.
 
The best thing about it is that it encourages me, and all the other WildWedders (as I call them), to look at journals outside our usual circle of blippers. It’s a lovely way to ‘meet’ new friends, and see where and how other people live. And for me, it’s an absolute thrill whenever a new person joins in the challenge: it makes me very happy!
 
Freyjad – Host of Tiny Tuesday
 
This is only my second time hosting for the month. The Tiny Tuesday challenge has no regular host and most people volunteer for one month at a time. I think we all feel that because we enjoy entering the challenge, it’s only right that we should also take a part in running it.
 
I think the other hosts would agree that it’s a pleasure to view entries that are often of a very high caliber.  Some entries involve real effort and have been carefully thought through. Awarding hearts and honorable mentions is really icing on the cake! I’m also impressed by how helpful and generous participants are to each other.
 
BikerBear – Host of Friday’s FlowerFriday Challenge
 
Hosting the challenge happened by accident! I had set myself a personal challenge, calling it FloralFriday. Another blipper picked up on it, renamed it to its current label and, voilà! It was born in December 2014.
 
I have never missed posting a flower since it started and have only missed one ‘awarding’ of hearts: that was the Friday after my mum (also a blipper) passed away and everyone dedicated their flowers to her.  What a great community!
 
The energy to continue hosting this challenge comes down to all the lovely comments and support from other blippers. And some get quite inventive: I’ve had FlourFriday and Flow-erFriday (the latter was a river)!
 
Admirer – Silly Saturday Challenge
 
I started by being a participant in many of the ongoing challenges. And then slowly I began to fantasize about hosting a challenge myself. I had seen that some blippers who occasionally posted a Silly Saturday picture. That gave me the idea to start the challenge. Last Saturday it was the 24th time.
 
It is very gratifying to see the galleries (SilS, or SillySaturday): the fabulous entries always give me a big smile and/or laugh.
 
Multiple hosts -- Derelict Sunday Challenge
 
This challenge began as Derelict Thursday, the original idea of SarumStroller. He built it up into a creative and inspiring challenge, much anticipated each week. After a brief interlude it was reintroduced by Freespiral as Derelict Sunday.
 
There is no permanent host now, just enthusiastic blippers volunteering to do a monthly stint. You can enter an image on any day of the week, just tag DS followed by the appropriate week number. The challenge is then collated by the host and admired on a Sunday. All things derelict can be included and participants are often amazed at how much beauty there is to be found in decay and abandonment. It can also take you into some very interesting places!
 
You can find the list of challenges (updated by each host) in Blipfoto’s forums in two ways:
1.     - click on the help button (bottom of the main page) and then click on ‘Ask the Community’
2.     - click on the Activity button (top of the main page) and then click on ‘Blip meets and discussions’
 
   
Remarks collected by Michele (aka Alsacienne)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.