Utility Sink

It still makes me happy that we have a utility room! 
This was the sight that met me this morning - the sink is full of filthy boots, a baby apple tree and pots which have just been planted. With who knows what!!
Mr K took Archie with him this morning when he went to work and dropped him off at my mum and dad's for the day while I went down to see Mrs S.
I got there at about 10.15 and as usual we had a lovely day. The weather was horrific so we didn't venture out. The day was spent chatting, drinking tea, eating a delicious lunch of roast chicken, baked potatoes and M&S deli salads. And butterscotch mousse for pudding. Yummy!!
Mrs S works for Travelbag (which is where we met in 2001, living in a hotel in Alton for six weeks training before opening the new office in Nottingham) and it was funny listening to her making a few work calls. My years as a travel agent come flooding back!!
We went to get Mr M from school and it was fabulous as ever to see him. He's a loon!!! A male version of Miss L who never fails to make me laugh!
Then it was time to head back to get the Little Misses from school. The last couple of times I've left Mrs S's I've been caught up in terrible traffic on the M1 and not got back in time. So today I left at 4pm - allowing two hours for a journey that should take an hour and ten minutes.
Zoomed round the M25, so far so good. I might even have time to pop into Asda for Miss E's giant number nine balloon for her birthday tomorrow.
Get round to the M1 and grind to a complete halt. ETA went from 5.25pm to 6.35pm. FFS!!!! 
What made the journey even more awful was listening to the coverage of the horrific attack in London. I didn't want to listen but I couldn't turn it off.
When will it stop?
Miss E's been asking when we can go to London again and now I don't want to take them. I know it won't happen. I know the odds are beyond minuscule. You wouldn't be in that place at that moment.
But those people mown down today were there. Walking across a bridge at that moment.
If you're there at that time the odds don't matter.
I made it to school by the skin of my teeth at 5.58pm. Took the Little Misses home and when Mr K got home I headed back to Milton Keynes to pick up the balloon and a few other bits for Miss E to open in the morning.
Home, too tired to cook so it was porridge for dinner and bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.