Mother's Day Flowers

These are the paper flowers that Miss E made me for Mother's Day. I love them!!
I had a sudden panic today realising that it's Miss E's birthday tomorrow. These things always seem to sneak up on me. One minute it's weeks away and then, shit, it's tomorrow and I need to sort presents, balloons, cards and wrapping. Sigh.
So after my lessons this morning - the last ones of the term unbelievably! - I sent Mr K a list of things from Lush to get and then came home and hit the internet. I ordered a climbing harness and chalk bag from Decathlon and a Fingerling unicorn from Smyths (next door to Decathlon!)
After a quick lunch I set off to collect it all. Plus some Aquabeads from Hobbycraft (in between Smyths and Decathlon) which Miss L wanted to get for Miss E.
In Hobbycraft I also got the obligatory giant balloons. Oh my God, double figures gets expensive!! £5 each for the One and the Zero, and £2 each to fill them and £1 for the weight. Next year she can have a Happy Birthday one instead!!
I was hoping I could drop it all off at home before picking up the Little Misses but there was no time so I covered it all up with blankets and towels (which are luckily plentiful in the back of my car. If we ever get stuck in snow on a motorway we'd probably have enough in the car to keep us going for weeks!!) and hope the balloons wouldn't escape and give the game away.
After Miss E was in bed tonight there was the usual slog of getting it all wrapped and ready. Mr K as usual did brilliantly in the face of my whinging and wailing. He sent me off to bed in the end and did it all himself!
Ten years ago tonight I was about to become a mum.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.