Mum

This is one of my favourite photos of me and mum. She died in 2006, I have just had to look up the date, I thought she was 69, but she was only 68. It was February. I only know it was a freezing cold day and it tried to snow. How can you not know these things I hear you ask?

I don't remember the day, the year, her age...but I do remember the little things, the important things. I remember the smell of her lipsticks, her perfume. I still have her hairbrush. She nearly fainted at the sight of her own blood when she cut her hand one day. She said she wasn't a good cook, but her Sunday dinners were fabulous. She didn't have a sweet tooth, but she grew up in a sweet shop...although she did like the purple wrapped Quality Street every now and again. She wasn't a happy driver, but she would take us anywhere if we needed a lift. She always hated her nose, she suffered with a bad back, but she had beautiful skin. She was petite and beautiful...and I miss her. 

I wrote a poem that I shared with my family when we scattered her ashes....

Here is your ride, it's time to go
The whole world is ready and waiting for you
So smile with the sun
And dance in the rain
And as you brush by the tulips
We'll see you again.
A rainbow of memories
Will fill the rivers and streams  
As the wind catches the tears
To light up our dreams.


Love to all the mums out there, in our lives and in our memories X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.