a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Faceless Smoker

Mono Monday: The Faceless Cigar Smoker

"Well I'm a sucker for fine Cuban cigars
The problem is I can't afford 'em
But last year I went and got myself a whole box
And just to be safe I insured 'em


I took out a policy against fire and theft
And then I hurried home
With a thirty-cent lighter I sat on my back steps
And I smoked 'em one by one


Two weeks later I went to see that insurance man
And I handed in my claim
With a straight face I told him that through a series of small fires 
They'd all gone up in flames


They reviewed my case and they had no choice
But to pay me for what I'd done
And I took that check and bought a whole new box
And I smoked 'em one by one


Two weeks later this detective shows up
Tells me that company's pressin' charges
One speedy trial later they locked me up
On twenty-four separate counts of arson


And now I sit and I stare at a blank brick wall
Lookin' back on what I've done
To pass the time I've got some ten-cent cigars
And I smoke 'em one by one
Yeah, I smoke 'em one by one"

Brad Paisley - Cigar Song


I was really struggling with an idea for today's faceless portrait shot, but I stumbled upon this smoker, standing outside one of the more upmarket Bristol hotels, who was the answer to my prayers as he lit up his cuban cigar.  

Now that you cannot smoke indoors anymore, the only place that anyone can smoke one of these enormous things is in the privacy of their own home or standing outdoors, watching the world go by.  Given the time that they take to smoke I would guess that the recently arrived warmer and drier spring weather would be very welcome, if this was your own particular vice.  Hopefully this chap wasn't involved in an insurance scam like the protagonist in Brad Paisley's song.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.