Cutting the Ribbon

Even though Silverado has been open since January, today was the Grand Opening Open House. Makes sense. You don't want to celebrate while you are still moving in your first residents. So today was the day. One of the two CEOs came from California to help celebrate the occasion. It was quite a party. Arvin's doctor since the early 1990s is the Medical Director and he gave a short speech. First thing he did was talk about people he recognized in the audience. He picked out Arvin to welcome. How great that felt. And what a fine man and fine doctor he is. He is next to Laura, the manager of the Bellingham Silverado, in this photo. They are holding the scissors and have just cut the ribbon which is falling down on either side. I was happy to catch them in mid cut. The extras are the amazing spread of food that was available. Two other Silverado chefs were on hand to help Leo, the local Silverado chef, to put together an amazing display of yummy hors d'oeuvres. 

I had a good day before Helena and I went to visit Arvin and celebrate the opening. I did my taxes. And I'm even getting a refund which I didn't expect. It took most of the day to do it. And I am thrilled that it is done and dusted. Whoopee!

The only negative today is that I have a cold. I felt it coming on last night in the middle of the night. And now it is fully present with sneezes, sniffles and a stuffy head. Oh well. No worries. I still had a great day. Hope you are having or had one too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.