Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

Sir Howard of Riccarton.

I've got a thing for graffiti. Actually that's not quite true. I'm a graffiti snob. There's something that I love about it. Use of colour, composition, typography - all show great skill. When it's done properly of course, like this fantastic example - a tribute to the legendary kiwi singer Sir Howard Morrison - down by the railway in Riccarton.

The other thing I appreciate is the improvisation required. The texture of the substrate, the location (sometimes hazardous - something I don't condone) and the availability of creative time. When you think about it, these are things that apply to photography too - we work with the available light, which is often fleeting, sometimes also trying to capture a moment which may happen only once.

Maybe that's the reason I appreciate artworks like this. Let's call it kindred spirits.

I don't like taggers though. You should stop practicing writing your name at primary school, not when you're bored. Vandals.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.