Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

Trees of Iron

As anyone who knows me and my penchant for public art will tell you, I have a massive soft spot for this wonderful installation by Ian Lamont, which sits proudly in a humdrum part of Sydenham. It's a place I've photographed on many occasions (check out my Wordpress Blog for more images), each time when the sky has seemed what I would call "on the turn." Tonight was no exception; on my way to pick up the better half I swooped by Disraeli having seen the rolling clouds that were sweeping in from the south and east. These were soon to turn into one of the most dramatic thunderstorms we've had in a while.
As an aside the ride home to the peninsula was stunning. Lightning cracked through the sky all around, the squid-ink black cloud momentarily flashed purpley-blue by the searing bolts. It did make me regret leaving the dSLR and remote back at home on the desk this morning. To capture some bulb shots on the tripod would have made the trip even more memorable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.